About StanCOG

About StanCOG

Stanislaus Council of Governments (StanCOG) is a council of city and county governments comprised of the Cities of Ceres, Hughson, Modesto, Newman, Oakdale, Patterson, Riverbank, Turlock and Waterford, and the County of Stanislaus, that was established in 1971 by a Joint Powers Agreement (JPA) to address regional transportation issues.

StanCOG is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Stanislaus region as designated by the federal government, the Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA) as designated by the State of California, and the Local Transportation Authority (LTA). An MPO/RTPA/LTA is a public organization that works with local governments and citizens in its region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city and county boundaries.

StanCOG is responsible for developing and updating a variety of transportation plans, and for allocating the federal, state, and local funds to implement them. While regional transportation planning is its primary role, issues that affect the entire region such as air quality are also part of what StanCOG does.

StanCOG provides a forum that brings mayors, city council members, and county supervisors together to work on regional issues in a setting that promotes the involvement of the public in the planning process for the Stanislaus region.

Our Mission

To provide planning coordination that enhances the quality of life in the Stanislaus region by working with local governments, state and federal agencies, and the public to create real solutions to regional transportation issues.


Creating a dynamic transportation network that safely and efficiently moves people and goods improves the region’s air quality and enhances the lives of the region’s residents.

Overall Objectives of StanCOG

  • Improve Mobility
  • Reduce Congestion
  • Improve Air Quality